Employment Practices Litigation

Employment disputes arise out of nearly every aspect of running a business. Myriad overlapping laws and ever-evolving case law can create a minefield for employers. Even decisions made before an employee submits an application may become the subject of litigation.  In this complicated environment, we make employment practices a part of our business so that our clients may carry on their business as usual.

 

KBR’s Employment team serves our clients in two primary ways. First, we work closely with our clients to minimize their exposure to employment litigation. To do so, we advise our clients in developing their company handbooks and internal procedures. We also prepare hiring and firing documentation, employment agreements, and separation agreements. At our client’s request, we offer comprehensive training on topics including harassment, wrongful termination, workplace privacy, the Family and Medical Leave Act, the Americans with Disabilities Act, and other federal, state and local employment laws. This proactive approach not only limits our clients’ exposure, but also puts them in a strong defensive position if litigation arises.

 

Second, we defend employers in all stages of employment disputes. Our Employment team represents for-profit companies, not-for-profit organizations, financial institutions, educational institutions, and municipal entities in cases brought in federal or state courts as well as cases before state and federal agencies. We also represent employers in industry arbitration and medical staff proceedings. Our litigation experience includes defending employers in employment discrimination and harassment lawsuits, wage and hour claims, family and medical leave claims, wrongful termination and retaliations claims, breach of contract and a variety of business torts. We are prepared to litigate an employment matter through trial, but also effectively pursue alternative dispute resolution mechanisms to keep our clients’ options open. We keep our clients informed on employment issues by issuing Client Advisories detailing important developments in employment law that may affect their business. Please visit KBR’s Publications page to read the latest employment law updates. 

 

KBR also has a separate team of attorneys that represents employment practices liability insurers in coverage matters. To learn more about this practice, please visit our Employment Practices Coverage page.

 

Practice Team Contacts

 

Joan M. Gilbride jgilbride@kbrlaw.com
Carol S. Doty cdoty@kbrlaw.com
Edward J. Guardaro Jr. eguardaro@kbrlaw.com
John B. Mullahy jmullahy@kbrlaw.com
Julianna Ryan jryan@kbrlaw.com
Brian M. Sher bsher@kbrlaw.com
Jeffrey S. Whittington jwhittington@kbrlaw.com